Vice-Chancellor of UPSA, Prof. Okoe Amartey appointed to GETFund Board

The Vice-Chancellor of the University of Professional Studies, Accra (UPSA), Professor Abednego F. O. Amartey has been appointed as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Ghana Education Trust Fund (GETFund).

Prof. Amartey was nominated by the Vice Chancellors-Ghana (VCG) as its sole representative to the Board. He brings to the table an extensive wealth of experience from academia which spans across marketing, management, entrepreneurship and service.

Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum, the Minister of Education, who inaugurated the 17-member Board of Trustees on Wednesday, June 9, 2021 called on the members to do more in developing educational infrastructure in the country.

The Minister said education was being transformed to meet the socio-economic developmental needs of the country and that the role of GETFund in providing funding for educational infrastructure and facilities within the public sector could not be understated.

Dr Adutwum added that the government viewed education as a means to an end and would work assiduously to create a robust GETFund to address infrastructure challenges in schools.

The GETFund Board of Trustees is chaired by Professor Dominic Fobih, a former minister of education.

In a brief address, Prof. Fobih pledged the Board’s commitment to work to fulfill its mandate. “We have the people to work to support the vision of the government’s educational agenda. We call for support from the Ministries of Finance and Education to complete the ongoing projects,” he said.

The members of the GETFund Board of Trustees are responsible for the management of the Fund and the GETFund Act 2000 (Act 581) enjoins them to pursue policies to achieve the objectives of the Fund.

Other responsibilities of the Board are to approve and pay expenditure charged on the Fund under the Act and any enactment, organise fund-raising activities to raise money for the Fund, and impose such charges as it considers necessary for services rendered by the secretariat of the Fund.

The Board members include Dr Richard Ampofo Boadu, Administrator, Dr Mohammed Marzuq Abubakari (representative of religious bodies), Mr Ammishadai Amoah, Ghana Revenue Authority, Mr Benjamin Gyasi from the Ministry of Education and Prof Mohammed Salifu from Ghana Tertiary Education Commission.

Others are Dr Kofi Mensah from the Ghana Association of Bankers, Ms Aretha Abena Duku from the Ghana Insurers Association and Mrs Kokui Adzo Adu, from the Association of Finance Houses.

The rest are Ms Philippa Larsen from the Ghana National Association of Teachers, Mrs Grace Amey-Obeng, from the Association of Ghana Industries, Mr Emmanuel A.Addo, from the Ghana Employers’ Association. There are also representatives from the Ghana Education Service Council, Ghana National Union of Technical Students, Ministry of Finance, and Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection on the board.

More Stories