Dr Anim-Wright receives international recognition

Registrar of the University of Professional Studies, Accra (UPSA), Dr. Koryoe Anim-Wright, has received global recognition for her impressive accomplishments in higher education.

Dr Anim-Wright was honoured as the most Outstanding Pioneer to Higher Education in West Africa at the 2024 Global SHE Achievers Awards in Dubai.

The prestigious annual awards celebrate the remarkable achievements of women across the world.

The awards ceremony brought together global leaders and visionaries from the fields of academia, health, business and governance, among others.

Dr. Wright-Anim’s remarkable achievement not only recognises her significant contributions to academia but also highlights her relentless efforts and unwavering commitment to promoting gender equality in the field of education.

Registrar of UPSA, Dr. Koryoe Anim-Wright at the Global SHE Achievers Awards in Dubai.


Known for her exceptional leadership and scholarly endeavours, Dr. Anim-Wright has become a true inspiration to aspiring female academics across West Africa.

As the first female registrar of UPSA, she has relentlessly worked towards creating an inclusive and equal academic environment for both staff and students.

Through her visionary leadership, she has significantly improved numerous policies and administrative practices, ensuring a level playing field for everyone associated with the university.

“By breaking the glass ceiling in a historically male-dominated industry, she has become a beacon of hope for countless women and has set a new standard of excellence for members of the University Community and future generations,” said Prof. Abednego Okoe Amartey, Vice-Chancellor of UPSA in a congratulatory message.

The Global SHE Awards scheme and conference, organised by the Business Executive Group, commemorates and celebrates the extraordinary achievements of women from all over the world.

The event brings together exemplary women who have excelled in their fields to share experiences with other women to improve the cultural, political, and socio-economic environment in which women operate.

Other awardees for the night included Professor Agnes Binagwaho, Vice Chancellor of the University of Global Health Equity, Agnes Matilda Kilibata, CEO of Alliance Group Africa, Ms. Ahunna Eziakonwa, Director UNDP and Haruna Juma, Director, Uganda Road Authority.

The rest are Amina Jane Mohammed, Deputy Secretary-General United Nations, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Director World Trade Organization, Oprah Winfrey, CEO & Founder of OW Network and Kamala Harris, Vice President of the United States of America.

More Stories