Prof Amartey with benefiaciaries of the UMB scholarship

Seven UPSA lecturers receive UNB scholarships

Seven lecturers from the Faculties of Management Studies and Accounting and Finance of the University of Professional Studies, Accra, have been awarded a Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholarships by the University of New Brunswick, Canada, to pursue a three-month capacity development programme as part of an exchange between the two universities.

The beneficiaries, comprising two senior lecturers, four lecturers and one assistant lecturer, were selected for the 2019 Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Scholarship for scholars after a rigorous process by a special selection committee by the University.

The seven included Dr. Isaac Boadi, Mr. Andrews Ayiku, Dr. Frederic Doe and Dr. Anthony Kumasey. The rest were Dr. Ummu Markwei, Dr. Augustine Peprah and Mrs. Benedicta Quao.

Speaking at a short ceremony ahead of their departure on Thursday, November 28, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Professor Abednego Feehi Okoe Amartey, urged the beneficiaries to be good ambassadors of the University.

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Abednego F. O. Amartey interacting with the beneficiaries ahead of their departure.


The collaboration between the two institutions is geared towards enhancing capacity and peer relationships among Scholars to enrich their experience and facilitate personal and professional growth.

It is expected that the lecturers would return to work with a renewed confidence- of their own abilities and strength, and a better understanding of their obligations to support the development of Entrepreneurship Training at the University.

The Canadian Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholarships aim to mobilize a dynamic community of young global leaders to create lasting impacts both at home and abroad through inter-cultural exchanges encompassing international education, discovery and inquiry, and professional experiences.

Also at the meeting was the Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Professor Charles Barnor and the deans of the two faculties.

More Stories